Tangy Sprout Salad with Cranberries and Pepitas

Sometimes I choose a serving dish based on whether or not it’s available, and if it’s the correct size or shape, etc. Other times (like today!) I choose it based on its future contents. Today’s post contains turmeric. In two forms. Beware using light colored (or even wooden – eek!) dishes.

Tangy Sprout Salad with Cranberries and Pepitas
Tangy Sprout Salad with Cranberries and Pepitas

Tangy Sprout Salad with Cranberries and Pepitas

2 cups sprouts (DIY sprouts post — coming soon!)
1/4 cup dried cranberries (I dehydrated my own this past November, so they don’t contain sugar – but feel free to use the sweetened kind as well)
2 Tablespoons raw pepitas
1/4 cup chopped parsley
Tangy (and slightly sweet!) Mustard Salad Dressing
Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Massage with hands (tongs or a wooden spoon also work great). Hum “Crazy” by Aerosmith. Allow salad to “meld” for at least an hour.
I plan to serve this for dinner tonight with some brown rice. Might also work as a crazy topping for tacos or pizza OR in a sandwich (think: Baguette + Hummus + Tangy Sprout Salad) OR as an inevitable side dish. Enjoy!

Tangy (and slightly sweet!) Mustard Salad Dressing

– Before I begin, I must tell you how much I L.O.V.E. mustard. I love it. Spicy. Brown. With seeds. Smooth. Deli. Dijon. Yellow. Honey (yes, this is the 1% that makes me 99% vegan). Am I missing any? I love them all. I think there’s even a horseradish kind floating out there – and I love it too. This salad dressing calls for ONE ENTIRE TABLESPOON of dijon whole seeded mustard. If it’s too much on you tastebuds, decrease the amount to 2 teaspoons… or even, dare I say…

*Pause*

… one lonely teaspoon. But, make it to your preference. Don’t be swayed by my mustard-loving prototype. It’s good to enjoy the food that you’re eating. And without further ado, iiiiiiiiiiiiit’s Tangy (and slightly sweet!) Mustard Salad Dressing:

1 Tablespoon Dijon whole seeded mustard (or the mustard of your choosing. Side note: I’ve only made this with the aforementioned mustard, so if you try anything else – good luck! Seriously.)
2 teaspoons sweetener
2 Tablespoons water
2 Tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon ground chia seeds (entirely optional – I like to add them for fiber and omega 3s)
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/4 teaspoon curry powder
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
salt and pepper to taste (I used around 1/4 teaspoon of each)

Directions: Mix in bowl. Taste test! Pour over Sprout salad.

One thought on “Tangy Sprout Salad with Cranberries and Pepitas

Leave a Reply

