Peanut Sauce with Roasted Garlic and Maple Syrup

Peanut Sauce
Peanut Sauce

Oh wow.  I love peanut butter too much.  Anyone else have this problem?

Honestly – I honestly want to put it in way too many things.  Sometimes I center meals around it.  Like, the night before.

Megan’s blog, Cookbook Aficionado is a really great source for the veganization of mealtimes.  It was here that I learned about making “cheese” and “scrambles”  and this (but, without the weirdly proportioned hair coverings and a twelve year old’s anime addiction).

As with all great recipes, I needed to change it.  Give it a slight twist.  I wanted to try out a Dragon Bowl without Satay Sauce.  Don’t get me wrong; I love satay sauce (peanut butter, right?!), but I wasn’t really into a citrus-infused-peanut butter-type of mood that night.  So, while keeping the rest of the ingredients somewhat similar, I changed the sauce to one with roasted garlic and maple syrup.  Somewhat similar to the dressing I made for the Italian Chickpea Salad post a few days ago.

It was so good THEN that I had to change it.  And add peanut butter.  Life truly is cyclical.  In the words of Justin Timberlake, “What goes around comes back around.”  Or was it Alicia Keys?  The Dali Lama?  God?

The only thing that would have added to the mass-pandemonium of tastebud euphoria in this PEANUT SAUCE would have been a side kick of dark chocolate.  But then… it wouldn’t have been satay-alternative worthy.  In fact, it might have been downright disgusting.  Um…?  No comment.

Peanut Sauce
Peanut Sauce

Peanut Sauce

2 Tablespoons peanut butter 
1 Tablespoon maple syrup
2 Tablespoons water
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1 and 1/2 teaspoon soy sauce
4 roasted garlic cloves, smashed
2 Tablespoons chopped peanuts (roasted would taste better, but raw also works here)

Directions: Put peanut butter in a small (microwaveable) bowl.  Microwave on high for 30 seconds.  Stir in next 4 ingredients until smooth.  Next, stir in final two ingredients.  Serve alongside your favorite recipe for Spring or Summer rolls or pad-thai-esque entrees.  Enjoy!

Makes: somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2 of a cup.

5 thoughts on “Peanut Sauce with Roasted Garlic and Maple Syrup

  1. The love of peanut butter is never a problem. In fact, I stumbled across your blog because I was browsing ‘peanut butter’ as a topic . . . I’m in Ecuador for the summer and have been without PB for SEVEN weeks. 3 more to go, and I’m hankering for some!

Leave a Reply

