Sausage-Less Hash

oh hash.  You remind me of Weezer.

Sausage-Less Hash
Sausage-Less Hash

Really wanted to make *hash* for breakfast.  (I feel like I’m always cooking breakfast.)  BUT, I didn’t just want a potato hash.  Or even one with buttah-NUT squash.  No, I wanted one with sausage.  OR SAUSAGE FLAVOR.

Wait, what’s up with that, Girl-That-Doesn’t-Eat-Sausage?!?  Yep, you heard right.  I wanted some Take-Me-Back-To-Whole-Foods-Days-WhenIMadeMyOwnChickenSausage.  With apples.  And, it was good.

Those days are gone.  <Insert Sad 90’s band playing background theme song /insert> #rightnow

But.  In a good way.  I still allow myself to eat a piece of fish or shellfish every once in a while (meaning: when I feel like it.  Translation: once a month), but it’s not like I crave it.  And yet, I still notice a difference in the way that I feel and the good outcomes of eating a plant-based diet.  Political agenda: Check.

Back to the sausage.  Instead of turning to BIG Names…

(Think: KELLOGG’S Morningstar Farms.  KRAFT Boca Products.  Eesh.)

Side Note: found this about taking action against BIG Name companies that defeated Prop. 37.

…for breakfast sausage, I subbed a SAUSAGE-FLAVORED hash instead.  Without the nasty casing that reminds me of the perfect representative of the word “Glop.”  Eew.  I actually just shuddered.

Turned out “mighty” tasty.  I’m not an old man.  But I felt like an old man just now by saying that.  Like I need suspenders.  And high-waisted pants.

Sausage-Less Hash
Sausage-Less Hash

 

Sausage-Less Hash

Stage 1 ingredients:

1/3 cup diced red onion
1/3 cup chopped tomato
1/4 cup water

Stage 2 ingredients:

1/4 teaspoon fennel seeds
1/4 teaspoon caraway seeds
1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon dried sage leaves, packed
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1/8 teaspoon liquid smoke
1/2 teaspoon maple syrup
cooking spray OR 1 Tablespoon olive oil

Stage 3 ingredients:

2 fresh garlic cloves, julienned
1/3 cup chopped (previously cooked) potato
1 cup coarsely chopped zucchini
1/2 cup sliced bell pepper
2 veggie [burger] patties, chopped (I used some that I had made – inspired by Kathy’s post here)

Julienned Garlic
Julienned Garlic
Cooked Potatoes should almost be "Smashable..."  Like this.
Cooked Potatoes should almost be “Smashable”  …like this.

Directions: Place a large skillet over medium high heat.  (Use one with a lid; you’ll need it!)  Add “Stage 1 Ingredients.”  Stir.  Cover.  Cook until tomato is falling apart, onion is slightly translucent, and water has evaporated.  [Uncover and] Add “Stage 2 Ingredients.”  Stir.  Cook [Uncovered] 2-3 minutes or until fragrant (meaning: you can smell the spices as they cook).  Add “Stage 3 Ingredients” and cook until zucchini is tender.  When it is: Remove pan from heat.  Toast bread (if that’s your thing) with some homemade vegan butter .  *recipe soon to come*

Homemade Butter
Homemade Butter

Oh man.  So good.

Serves: 2 people or one really hungry person

Sausage-Less Hash
Sausage-Less Hash
Leave a Reply

