Chocolate Chip Cookies with a Peanut Butter Sidekick

Don’t mind me.  I’m not the jerk neighbor vacuuming late at night.  I’m only in the kitchen: baking.  Ah, the things a person is capable of at ten o’clock at night.  Not much.  Except for Zillow *drooling* and Facebook check-ups.  And cookies.  The husband made me do it, I swear.

The following recipe was inspired by this one.  Seriously, the best I ever had.  Sometimes I sub dried strawberries for the chocolate chips.  #ohfreakingWOW!

…Until I ran out of instant oats and molasses.  Then I needed to make a few substitutions.  Does this ever happen to anyone else?

Peanut Butteresque Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butteresque Chocolate Chip Cookies

Should have let it cook a little longer for the picture.  I struggle with impulse control: in the kitchen making cookies, when finding a “good deal,” @ anytime when I’m perusing Anthropologie.  Even though I just came to *look.*

I lie to myself all the time.  Thankfully my husband doesn’t buy it.

Peanut Butter-esque Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter-esque Chocolate Chip Cookies

Side Note: Because of the substitutions, these fall slightly on the “TastesALittleMoreLikeAPeanutButterCookie” side of a chocolate chip cookie.  Good though, assuming you don’t mind PB.

Peanut Butter-esque Chocolate Chip Cookies

3 Tablespoons peanut butter (homemade or storebought)
1 teaspoon olive oil
2 and 1/2 Tablespoon vanilla flavored “milk
1 Tablespoon maple syrup
1 teaspoon ground chia seeds (optional)
1/2 cup plus 2 teaspoons spelt flour (can also substitute with whole wheat flour)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon baking soda (not optional)
a pinch or two of salt
1/4 cup chocolate chips 

Directions: In a large mixing bowl, combine: peanut butter, oil, milk, and maple syrup.  Stir until smooth.  Add: flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.  Stir until batter is smooth.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Using a cookie scoop, place rounded balls on parchment-lined baking sheet about 3 inches apart.  (This is my favorite part about these cookies: they actually spread!)

Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes.  Allow to cool for 10 minutes before consuming.  Happy eating!  Makes: somewhere between 12 and 15 cookies.  Depending on how much is eaten pre-oven stage.

*for longer storage life, store in a freezer-safe bag.  In the freezer.

Peanut Butter-esque Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter-esque Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter-esque Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter-esque Chocolate Chip Cookies
One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies with a Peanut Butter Sidekick

Leave a Reply

