Cheesy Veggie Burgers – Gluten Free!

I made this for dinner tonight.

Eggplant Lasagna with Chunky Roasted Tomato Sauce
Eggplant Lasagna with Chunky Roasted Tomato Sauce
Eggplant Lasagna with Chunky Roasted Tomato Sauce
Eggplant Lasagna with Chunky Roasted Tomato Sauce

I also discovered that I HATE big chunks of eggplant.  Pieces of vegetable flesh.  Purply-brown-green.  Reminds me of things that should not be mentioned in a food blog.  Eesh.  That makes made me shiver.  Well, I finished my piece of Roasted Tomato Lasagna with.  Eggplant (slowly).  And… well… the husband threw his away.  For good reason.  He hates eggplant as well.

And then, I. Um. *Clearing throat.*  Realized one amazing thing.  I still have an entire eggplant in the fridge.  Untouched.  And, it’s nasty in it’s big, fleshy form.  Like a large, sweaty man.  The one you have to stand behind in the grocery line as he breathes loudly.  And farts.  But, it doesn’t make any noise.  So, you can’t judge – or blame.  And then people look at you.

I had to do something.  And, I had to do the “something” fast.  Before I puked in my mouth.  Or my body violently revulsed.

It took me a few minutes, but then I pulled out the cutting board.  And, a good knife.  And, that blasted eggplant.  And came up with this recipe; a sort of eggplant redemption that’s soo good.

Cheesy Veggie Burgers
Cheesy Veggie Burgers

Cheesy Veggie Burgers

2 teaspoons oil, for sautéing (I used coconut oil)  Feel free to increase it to 3; I won’t judge!
1/2 cup diced sweet onion
1/2 cup diced purple eggplant
1/2 cup diced red pepper
1 clove minced (Fresh) garlic
1 cup cooked chickpeas “Garbanzo beans,” mashed and smashed
a small handful “cheese” (I used a vegan cheddar cheese blend)
2 black olives, minced (seems like a small amount, but it does make a difference)
1/2 teaspoon ground chia seeds
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:  Place a large skillet over medium high heat (or just high, if you dare).  To it, add: oil, onion, eggplant, and pepper.  Sauté until veggies are tender and slightly browned.  Remove from heat.

In a medium-sized mixing bowl, add chick peas and MASH (if you haven’t already done it!).  Sprinkle with ground chia seeds, olives, and cheese and season with salt and pepper.  Mix well.  Stir in vegetables.  *Taste.*  If it needs salt and pepper, season.  If not, skip this step.

Divide into 6 (larger or 7 smaller) pieces – and, it’s time to wrap!  (Need visuals?  Click here)

Now, take out a four-inch ramekin and line with a piece of plastic wrap.  (You’ll need to do this for each “burger.”)  Place a scoop of burger mix in the plastic wrap.  Smoosh mixture with the back of a spoon until it spreads to all *Corners* of the ROUND ramekin.  Evenly.  Unless you want burger slopes.  Wrap plastic wrap around burger.  Holding ramekin in one hand, flip burger onto free hand.  Place wrapped burgers on a plate (or level surface) and refrigerate for at least an hour (I prefer to do this overnight).  When you’re ready to cook, lightly grease a skillet with oil or nonstick cooking spray.  Place over medium high heat.  And, cook burgers until lightly browned on both sides.

Then, eat!

Serve on pita, burger buns, or anything else worth holding eggplant masterpieces of yumminess.  Try it out with this smoky citrus sauce!

Makes: 6 or 7 burgers (depending on size)

Cheesy Veggie Burgers
Cheesy Veggie Burgers
Cheesy Veggie Burgers
Cheesy Veggie Burgers
3 thoughts on “Cheesy Veggie Burgers – Gluten Free!

Leave a Reply

