Salsa Verde… without Tomatillos…WHAT?!?!

Salsa Verde
Salsa Verde

I live in Maryland, halfway between Baltimore City and what we refer to as the “Eastern Shore.”  The “other” side of Maryland.  The one with the chicken farms.  And the never-ending rows of corn.  And soybeans.  I’ve never found out if they are GMO.  I just don’t buy them.  There.  I wait until I find a nicely-marked package that tells me what certifies that what I *think* I’m buying is what I’m ACTUALLY buying.  Having said that, I choose to support small business owners in areas other than corn and soybeans, for more of a political and moral reason rather than anything else.  It’s kind of a “soapbox” of mine; I won’t explain now – it’ll take too long.

Needless to say, since I live in this area AND refuse to buy veggies at the supermarket when I can give to local farms, tomatillos aren’t something that I can readily buy…which presents a problem when I want to make a traditional salsa verde.  But a non-traditional version?  Challenge accepted.

Salsa Verde
Salsa Verde

“Salsa Verde” simply means: GREEN SAUCE in Spanish.  Yep.  It doesn’t mean: Tomatillo Sauce.  Or Weirdly-Colored Salsa.  Or: don’t make eat this even if they don’t serve the red kind.  Salsa.

So, I took THAT and ran with it.  I grabbed all of the green veggies I had out of the fridge (which sadly consisted of a single zucchini and a green bell pepper) and got to work.

Because this isn’t your “traditional” salsa verde, it does have some “weird” ingredients – like zucchini.  And vinegar.  And so, the taste won’t be *exactly* the same as what you might expect.  But, hopefully there is a subtle reminder of tomatillos within the tang of the vinegar and the color of the veggies.  Enjoy!

Salsa Verde
Salsa Verde

Salsa Verde

2 cups minced zucchini (from 1 medium-sized zucchini)
1/2 cup minced green bell pepper
4 cloves *smashed* fresh garlic
1 Tablespoon oil (I used coconut)
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 cup vegetable broth
1 teaspoon distilled white vinegar
2 Tablespoons raw cashews
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions: In a medium-sized saucepan, add zucchini, bell pepper, garlic and oil.  Cook over medium-high heat until tender.  Add cumin, broth, and season with salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium.  Cover and continue cooking for 5-10 minutes.  Remove from heat and uncover.  Allow to cool (around 10 minutes).  Then, pour into a blender and add the remaining ingredients: vinegar and cashews.  Blend until smooth.  Taste (!) and add more salt and/or pepper – if it needs it.

Makes: about 1 cup

Salsa Verde
Salsa Verde

Use anywhere you would a salsa verde, like: chilaquiles, tostadas (but not these!), or enchiladas.  Yum!

Salsa Verde
Salsa Verde
One thought on “Salsa Verde… without Tomatillos…WHAT?!?!

Leave a Reply

