Vegan Chana Masala Nachos

I have really been craving (vegan) junk food here lately.  I could care less about Snickers knock-offs.  What I really want is: Nachos.  Chips.  Salty, and a GOOEY MESS.

I guess that’s why I made this and this.  *Sheepish grin*

Oops.  Probably should have warned you.

Well, today is another tale of how a gooey mess and a salty crunch got the best of me.  Again.

Exhibit A:

Vegan Chana Masala Nachos
Vegan Chana Masala Nachos

Drooling, right?

Go make these; now.  And watch “Fever Pitch” while you’re at it.  Ooh, and drink a beer.  These babies beg for beer!

Chana Masala Nachos
Chana Masala Nachos

Chana Masala Nachos

3 large handfuls of tortilla chips, divided
1 cup chana masala
2 handfuls shredded “cheese” (I used a vegan cheddar cheese blend – but use any other vegan Mexican goodness out there that you find – Monterrey Jack, Pepper Jack, Cheddar… am I missing any?)
cashew cheese sauce (for topping – see recipe below)

Additional toppings: sliced jalapeños, sliced scallions (green parts only), sliced pickled onions, chopped tomatoes, sprouts (!?!?!!)

Directions: Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Do now. The prep-work will go by SUPER FAST.  Or – SUPA FAST (depending on the last time you watched Flava Flave in that bad reality t.v. show).

Grease a baking pan with cooking spray or a *touch* of oil.  Evenly spread 1 and 1/2 handfuls of chips on the bottom of the pan.  Top with 1/2 cup of chana masala.  Then, top with one handful of cheese.  Next, repeat layers with remaining ingredients (except for cashew cheese spread): chips, chana masala, cheese.  Bake in oven for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven (WHAT?!?).  Allow to cool.

Meanwhile – make “Cashew Cheese Spread.”  SUPA Fancy.

Cashew Cheese Spread Recipe: In a blender, combine 1/2 cup raw cashews, 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds, 1 Tablespoon nutritional yeast, 1/2 cup water, and salt and pepper – to taste.  Blend until smooth.  Makes about 1/2 cup.  WAIT, YOU’RE NOT FINISHED!

Now, to make Cashew Cheese Sauce: Take out a few tablespoons of Cashew Cheese Spread (think: 2), thin with a bit of “milk” – do this by stirring in a teaspoon at a time until it reaches a pourable (Yogurt-like) consistency.  Season with salt and pepper.  Next, drop it by “dollops” onto cooled nachos.

Makes: a very large plate of nachos.  Serve with salad… so you don’t eat the entire plate.

19 thoughts on “Vegan Chana Masala Nachos

    1. Thanks! And they were. So. Good. My husband is a full-fledged meat eater, but is supportive of my decision to cook without it at home. And he loved it. Let me know how it goes if you decide to make it!

  1. They don’t seem very ‘junky’ to me! Are the nachos similar to those super low fat taco shells? I’m not very familiar with Mexican food but have high hopes that they can be healthy too 🙂 will need to click follow for your blog then! On first glance, thought the cashew cheese was soy yoghurt! Practically less than 10 cal per serve 🙂

    1. Hi! I consider then junk food, because I used regular ol’ (organic) tortilla chips; not the super low-fat kind. Using a cultured soy milk might need some tweaking, because of it “fruity” taste, but I’m sure it’s do-able. Would love to know what you come up with! Thanks for following! – Lauren

      1. Soy yoghurt can just be bought from some supermarkets here, I suppose they can be used as sour cream substitutes. The super low fat ones would make a satisfactory substitute? I haven’t had regular chips for so long, how different are they?

        1. Honestly, I wouldn’t recommend using a cultured soy in place of sour cream – even the plain kind – unless you don’t mind the fruity flavor. Although – this article recommends it, so…? http://www.vegkitchen.com/tips/vegan-substitutions/

          Low fat vs. regular tortilla chips? I don’t know. Honestly, I try to stay away from items labelled “low fat” or – make my own version, so I know exactly what it’s made of.
          But – I only say THAT to say that you should use whatever you like. If low-fat is your thing, then go for it. 🙂

          1. I’ve never detected any ‘fruity flavour’ from the soy yoghurt I’ve eaten. The organic NZ brand I had tasted basically like sour tofu haha.

            I’ve never seen low-fat tortilla chips but what I meant were the taco shells from Old El Paso taco kits i.e. as mentioned here http://youngspotstop.wordpress.com/2011/02/15/ which are low cholesterol and fat. And I’m all pro-fat in some foods like tofu or soy milk because obviously that’s needed for calcium absorption. Not the same in i.e. canned beans because what’s the point?
            P.S. I’ve tried your chana masala recipe(I thought it was Mexican style! i.e. pictured with nacho chips), I tweaked it a little but was super delicious! I will post if you are interested to see my rendition 🙂 And of course, instead of chips I went for crispy lettuce or home made wholemeal pita!

Leave a Reply

