Sunny Side Up Muffins

Sunny Side Up Muffins
Sunny Side Up Muffins

I don’t know if this is something that you wanted to hear, but sometimes (ok, A LOT of the time) I like to center meals around a COLOR SCHEME.

Although I usually depend on the ingredients that I have in order to make a recipe, I do choose foods (for that recipe) based on whether or not their colors are appealing.  At that moment.  I have been known to run to the “store” a time or two just to get a purple onion or some broccoli, because it will “Look Pretty.”  Does this make you like me any less?

Sunny Side Up Muffins
Sunny Side Up Muffins

I have to admit, I used this recipe as a starting point.  I’ve made that recipe before – almost “as is,” except for a few minor substitutions: 1/2 chia and flax mixture for the all-flax requirement – AND – subbing coconut oil for olive oil – and some additions: 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract (completely accidental, but it turned out WONDERFUL!), toasted coconut, dried pineapple, and dried goji berries.  Oh man, those were SO good.  It was like Hawaii in my mouth.

Weird fact, but I almost never have olive oil.  I find it too expensive.  But, I buy coconut oil in bulk.  Somehow, I have qualms with buying olive oil in bulk.  I feel like it will go rancid really fast.  So, I buy it in small dark green glass bottles.  But, I have no problem buying coconut oil in large plastic canisters.  I am a walking (stubborn) hypocrite.  I refuse to change.

Ok, so if you checked out the link I used as a “starting point,” you’ll notice that the ingredients in there versus the ones used for this muffin are drastically different.

Sunny Side Up Muffins
Sunny Side Up Muffins

… because I didn’t have applesauce.  Or TWO bananas, flax seeds, or even walnuts.

… and, honestly I didn’t want to add sugar to this one.  I wanted to try to keep the sugar content as low to nothing as possible.  I also upped the PROTEIN ante and added some garbanzo bean puree.  Which: helps to level out blood sugar levels.

So, I added some of every edible item I had THAT WAS ORANGE and a LONELY banana and came up with this muffin recipe.  I really wanted an orange breakfast this morning.  It just sounded good.  Monochromatic Monday Morning?  I think so.

These muffins have a slight crumb and moist-ness, by the way.

Sunny Side Up Muffins: Monochromatic Awesomeness
Sunny Side Up Muffins: Monochromatic Awesomeness

Sunny Side Up Muffins

2 cups whole wheat flour (You can also use spelt or all-purpose, for an even softer muffin)
2 Tablespoons ground chia seeds (or – ground flax seeds; as an egg-replacer)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 (tightly packed) cup dried apricots, chopped
2 Tablespoons raw sunflower seeds (can also substitute Hemp seeds here)
2/3 cup plus 2 Tablespoons shredded carrot (from 1 large carrot)
1/2 Tablespoon orange zest (from 1/2 orange OR 1 tangerine/clementine)
1/2 cup mashed banana (from 1 large really ripe banana)
2 Tablespoons orange juice (or clementine/tangerine)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup oil (I used melted coconut oil)
1 cup “milk” (I used coconut milk)
6 Tablespoons bean puree (I used a garbanzo bean puree – from around 1/2 to 3/4 cup pureed cooked chickpeas)
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
extra oil (or cooking spray) for greasing muffin pan
raw sunflower seeds and/or sugar, for sprinkling muffin tops

Directions: Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In a large mixing bowl, combine: flour, chia seeds, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Mix well.  Add apricots, sunflower seeds, carrot, and orange zest.  Stir well.

In a separate bowl (I used a 2-cup measuring cup), add remaining ingredients in order listed.  Stir until smooth.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until just combined.

Divide muffin dough amongst greased cups in muffin pan.  And… bake for around 30 minutes if you’re using a jumbo muffin pan or 15-20 minutes if you’re using a regular muffin pan.  Mini muffin pans will take around 8-10 minutes.  And mini-mini muffin pans will take… well… I don’t know.

Because actual oven temperatures will vary, it’s important to test with a toothpick (after being inserted into a baked product, it should come out “clean” – with no crumbs or residue attached) about 5 minutes before stated “Final” cooking time.

Makes – 6 or 8 jumbo muffins, 10-12 regular size muffins or a lot of mini muffins (depending on how much muffin dough you load into each “cup.”)

Sunny Side Up Muffins
Sunny Side Up Muffins

Need more orange?  Make this Sweet Potato and Butternut Squash Hash as well.

14 thoughts on “Sunny Side Up Muffins

  1. Wonderful, absolutely delicious looking and sounding.

    I’ve never colour co-ordinated meals – presentation isn’t really something I take time on, I’m all about the taste but I can see how it would be nice to do that, it’s not a bad quirk and I wouldn’t think less of a person for making that effort. If you colour co-ordinate with natural ingredients, as you have here, with fruit/veg the meal is nutritionally valuable which is the top priority and visually attractive which is important to other people eating your food and to many makes the meal psycho- taste better in a psychosomatic way. Plus grouping fruit/veg together in their colour groups means that you know which meals will give you a boost for particular vitamins, minerals and essential acids.

    1. Ah, the joy of emptying cabinets. 🙂
      Side note, but you can also use peanut butter as an egg replacer, along with tofu and flax meal. i tried to find the article that I use as a reference (previously), but i no longer need it and it is floating somewhere out there in internet world. If i find it, i’ll send it to you.

      1. No worries about the egg replacers 🙂 I know a fair few because I’ve been meddling with eggless baking even before I became ‘vegan’, as a result of my mum being non-ovo vegetarian (Helped her pack back on all the calories from abstaining from cakes! Mwahaha) In fact, I would use free-range eggs in my bakings if my mum wasn’t non-ovo… I like how protein packed they are 🙂 Are you vegan by the way? Oh, and here’s a very very awesome egg-replacer website for basically anything, in case anyone’s interested: http://chefinyou.com/egg-substitutes-cooking/ Comes in an easy to read table!

    1. too much would definitely be a bad thing – or would it? 😉 it just acts as a binding agent; think: UN in the world of baking. you’ll need to use another tactic to make it rise.

  2. Oh yes, peanut butter in little blue caps. I find that because tofu doesn’t bind well, the cakes which I use tofu as a substitute in often break apart easily.. 😦 by the way, have you heard of pb2? They’re not sold in my country, but they’re powdered, fat free peanuts which you make peanut butter out from, combined with water. Sounds a bit too extreme calorie-phobic even to me 😛

      1. We don’t really have a wide variety of peanut butter to select over here, yeast extract spreads are more out thing 🙂 Better n’ Peanut butter sounds like a better option! Still contains the good fats and fat-soluble vitamins etc. Thing is, peanut butter is already relatively good for you, why all the tweaks?

        1. Honestly, I don’t know. I make my own at home – and usually add something for fiber or a little extra protein – just to enhance it a bit. There are some theories out there, though – that peanuts are bad for one reason or another (ie: effects on hormones and metabolism and their digestive qualities).

          1. Wow. I wouldn’t think of adding even more to peanuts; they seem to already be packed full of nutrients and calories! Apart from protein, they can use a little more of that (for vegans/veggies). Yeah, I’ve heard the same about some side effects; might do a little research on it but since I’m not consuming dangerous amounts don’t see the point (also lazy). I’m sure the occasional peanuts wouldn’t do much harm. Oh, and be sure to check my post out! – Iz

Leave a Reply

