Moroccan Spice

So, I have 5 meals (maybe 4?) that I need to make before we semi-temporarily move to Virginia (for TWO WEEKS).  And, this is what I bought (minus the – yeah, you caught me! – bag o’spinach from the *ahem* grocery store.  I couldn’t resist…) –

Veggies!
Veggies!

Also included in the “I’m pretending it’s there, but it doesn’t actually exist” pantry area is: 2 previously juiced and then frozen lemon rind halves, a small bag of each – apricots/dates/cherries – all dried, a few handfuls of garlic cloves, 1 can tomato sauce, 2 cans tomato paste, 2 clementines, 4 bananas, a bag of quinoa, some coconut milk, a quart of coconut oil, flour, a few handfuls of chocolate chips, 1 and 1/2 quarts of raw almonds, some raw sunflower seeds, a little over a cup of cooked and frozen garbanzo beans, some leftover garbanzo bean puree, the last remnants of homemade mayo, and some spices.

I don’t think I’ve left anything out.

Or maybe…

yes, there is an 8 ounce jar of freshly made peanut butter and a whole GALLON sized bag of roasted peanuts in the shell.  Think: Road trip nosh?  Perhaps?

That l-o-n-g list seems longer than the actual *presence* of the ingredients.

Anyway, based on what I have and what I’ve made so far this month – I’ve decided to take a turn for the better, based on the reminder of a really yummy Moroccan Soup I made from the Mayo Clinic Diet Cookbook so long ago.  From that point, I went to work – used *that* search engine to find some Moroccan food inspiration and eventually found Saffron Streaks, a food blog with a really good looking recipe for a chickpea stew.  Er – soup.  The color of the soup was what really got my attention – tomato-y with a slight tint of orange.  After that post about Monochromatic Monday, I couldn’t help but go with it… and make it my own.  Based on what I had.  The *story* of my life.  Until I grow mango trees.

Alongside beautiful-looking recipes, Saffron Streaks is also a beautiful blog… by the way.

Apart from making a Moroccan-inspired soup, I’m also making:

– lemon and spice quinoa
– spinach and quinoa “au gratin”

Lemon and Spice Quinoa
Lemon and Spice Quinoa

… Should be interesting.  At that point, we will have used all of the food in the kitchen and be entirely ready to hit the road.

Spiced Orange and Chickpea Soup
Spiced Orange and Chickpea Soup

Spiced Orange and Chickpea Soup (a Moroccan-infused Chickpea soup) – sans Tagine

1/2 small sweet onion, diced (about 1 cup)
4 cloves fresh garlic, smashed
2 teaspoons oil (I used coconut oil)
1 cup shredded carrots
1 and 1/4 cup (increase to more or less, depending on what you have) cooked chickpeas
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 Tablespoons paprika
1 teaspoon honey (or other sweetener)
14.5 ounces tomato sauce
14.5 ounces water + 2 and 1/2 cups water, divided
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
2 clementines, zested and juiced (or – 1/2 Tablespoon orange zest + 4 Tablespoons orange juice)
2 handfuls spinach, chopped

Directions: Place a large saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add onion, garlic and 1 cup of water.  Cook until tender and water is at least half evaporated.  Add oil and continue cooking  until water is 90% evaporated.  Add carrots, chickpeas, cumin, cinnamon, paprika, honey, tomato sauce, and remainder of water.  Reduce heat to medium.  Cover and cook for 20 minutes; at a simmer.  Stir in vinegar, zest and juice of clementines, and chopped spinach.  Cover and continue cooking about 5-8 minutes – or until spinach is cooked through.  Remove from heat.  Allow to cool, and serve!

Makes: 4 big servings of soup

Spiced Orange and Chickpea Soup
Spiced Orange and Chickpea Soup
Spiced Orange and Chickpea Soup
Spiced Orange and Chickpea Soup
Leave a Reply

