Quick Vanilla Chai Tea

Quick Vanilla Chai Tea

This recipe is kind of a “no-brainer,” as in, it’s so simple you don’t need to think about it – I’m hoping that is where the phrase originated.  When I’m in “my own kitchen,” and am in possession of whole spices – like cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, etc. – and black tea, I like to make my own version of chai.  I have a friend from India that makes hers using garam masala spices, and it’s delicious.

But, being a nomad (temporarily), my current location doesn’t quite allow for the delicacy of long term steeping and whole spice availability… unless I shop at a grocery store – the closest one is Publix (which I’m avoiding because of this), and so – I relied on a bagged tea that I had from Yogi Tea called “Vanilla Spice Perfect Energy.”

Although I am a vanilla advocate, if I had the choice – I would choose a strong, black tea over a vanilla-spiced one any day.  But a late September mid-day drink?  When it feels this breezy and cool (and wonderful!), vanilla just seems like a must.

Quick Vanilla Chai Tea

Quick Vanilla Chai Tea

Quick Vanilla Chai Tea

3 tea bags of Yogi Tea’s Vanilla Spice Perfect Energy Tea
2 cups water
1 cup “milk” (I used a vanilla flavored – sweetened – coconut milk)
sweetener, to taste (optional)
ground cinnamon, for sprinkling (optional – but too good to pass up!)

Directions: place a small saucepan over medium heat.  Add water and tea bags and cover until water begins to boil.  Reduce heat to low (or preferably – simmer or warm) and allow to steep for 3-5 minutes.  Stir in milk and sweetener, cover, and continue “warming” or “simmering” for 2-3 minutes – basically just until it is warmed through.  CAUTION: Be careful not to boil!

Top with cinnamon and pour into two mugs.

Note: for a creamier version, either  (a) use all “milk” instead of a water/milk combo OR (b) substitute creamer or full-fat coconut milk for the “milk.”

Makes: 2 servings

2 thoughts on “Quick Vanilla Chai Tea

Leave a Reply

