BBQ Lentil Stew

BBQ Lentil Stew

I had a little over a cup of lentils (green?), carrots, and some uncooked red quinoa, fully planning to make a lentil loaf.  But, I didn’t have any nuts.  Oh… nuts (!).  Well, planning until my husband interjected the thought with “I don’t think I like quinoa.”  New mission: do something else with the lentils.  New new mission: cook quinoa in a way that he’ll like it.  Challenge(s) accepted.

I’m in a Mexican and BBQ mood right now.  Fortunately, I’ve only planned two meals for either category.  One of the meals is a sort of Huevos Rancheros – with egg (yes, I still eat one or two every once in a while) and the other is this.

BBQ Lentil Stew

BBQ Lentil Soup.  Not mexican, but still very saucy.  Serve with bread or a big, honkin’ margarita – strawberry would be a good flavor for this.  Yum!

Note: I used a HUGE can of crushed tomatoes – but feel free to substitute tomato sauce.

BBQ Lentil Stew

BBQ Lentil Soup

2 Tablespoons chopped sweet onion (or chopped white onion)
1 Tablespoon oil
4 large fresh carrots, chopped
1 and 1/4 cup lentils
4 cups water
28 ounces crushed tomatoes (or equal parts tomato sauce)
1 teaspoon ground chili powder
2 Tablespoons paprika
6 Tablespoons molasses
4 Tablespoons distilled white vinegar
2 Tablespoons liquid smoke
1 link Tofurkey Italian Sausage, diced
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions: Place a medium sized saucepan over medium heat.  Add onion, carrots, and oil.  Sauté until tender.  Add lentils and water, cover, and cook until tender.  Remove from heat.  Transfer to blender (might need to do two batches, depending on the size of your blender) and add remaining ingredients (except for Tofurkey Italian Sausage).  Blend until smooth-ish, stir in sausage, and serve.

Makes: 4-6 servings

4 thoughts on “BBQ Lentil Stew

  1. I bet he wouldn’t even taste the quinoa in a loaf situation! Also, I didn’t think I liked it until I’d had it a few times. Thanks for the reminder that it can be used in a loaf, too. I’d forgotten I had a great result last time I used it.

Leave a Reply

