Pumpkin Chai

Pumpkin Chai

If only this were a hot toddy.  To be fair, I had just woken up – if you’re like me, you assume that waking up to a good alcoholic drink is something that should be savored for the more coherent.

And so, I made Pumpkin Chai.  So delicious.  *Slurp, slurp*

I made it on the thinner side, because I didn’t have a lot of pumpkin purée, and I’m planning on making this more than just once – also, I’ve got a soup recipe with pumpkin milling around in my head and I’d like to make it without having to buy another can.  #firstworldproblems.  Fo sho!  If you want it thicker, reduce the tea addition by half and/or use creamer (or even coconut cream) in place of the “milk.”

Pumpkin Chai

Pumpkin Chai

Pumpkin Chai

5 Tablespoons pumpkin purée (fresh or canned)
1 cup “milk
1 teaspoon molasses
2 teaspoons sweetener (optional)
1/2 teaspoon ground chia seeds (optional)
1/2 cup brewed strong, black tea
1/4 teaspoon plus a pinch ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
extra cinnamon, for sprinkling

Directions: Place a medium size saucepan over medium heat.  Add (all) ingredients to pan and whisk until smooth.  Cover and cook until heated through.  Remove from heat and pour into two mugs.  Top with extra cinnamon, or – if you have it – whipped cream (or whipped coconut cream).

Makes: 2 servings

Leave a Reply

