Even Greener Broccoli Salad

Even Greener Broccoli SaladIn search of another picnic-ish item to make for the road, I started looking for a potato salad substitute.  Apparently, I’m already “over” it.  Apparently

And so, in wading through the deep trenches of *Pinterest pictures and visual food rainbows and unicorns, I came across this recipe from Chin Deep for a Candied Broccoli Salad.  The initial recipe looks amazing, and the title absolutely makes me drool.  But – I don’t eat bacon and I’m avoiding dairy.  Needless to say, I didn’t use the recipe, but I just thought I’d share in case there’s someone out there looking for a bacon-worthy salad.

Other recipes included cheese (!) – something to be attempted at a later date.  I also found some lone rangers with oranges (yes?) and one with butternut squash.  With so many options, I stuck with a more original approach.  Something about broccoli salad with dried cranberries and toasted almonds just sounded really good to me.

Even Greener Broccoli Salad

To health-ify it (pretty sure I just made that one up!), I halved the usual required amount of creaminess and added a handful each of arugula and kale.  Oh, and the sour cream version I used consisted mostly of tofu – protein bonus!  If you don’t have *sour cream* or want to avoid tofu, try substituting the same amount of raw cashew – just soak in enough water to cover (for one hour), drain, then blend until smooth.

I’m pretty sure that this recipe is gluten free (I used Trader Joe’s vegan sour cream – deemed GF by the company), although you might need to check the ingredients for the dried cranberries (seriously – you never know!).  To “Paleo” it, sub the blended cashews for the tofu-drenched sour cream and make sure to get sugar free dried cranberries.  To sweeten it without the sugar, simply add a few dates to the cashews when you blend OR stir in a handful of raisins or a chopped apple into the salad.

Even Greener Broccoli Salad

Even Greener Broccoli Salad

Even Greener Broccoli Salad

1 head broccoli, chopped into bite size pieces
1/4 cup diced sweet onion
1/2 cup (toasted) sliced almonds
1/2 cup sweetened, dried cranberries
1/2 cup (vegan) sour cream
2 teaspoons distilled white vinegar
1/2 teaspoon molasses
2 pinches ground cinnamon
1 pinch chili powder
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon sweetener
5 drops liquid smoke
salt and pepper, to taste

Directions: Place broccoli, onion, almonds, and cranberries in a large bowl.  In a small bowl, combine remaining ingredients and stir until combined.  Next, stir ingredients in small bowl into those in the large bowl – until *combined.

Then, chill for at least an hour to allow flavors to meld, then allow to come to room temperature before serving and eating.

Makes: 4 large-ish or 6 small-ish servings.  Goes great with a picnic or a glass of mead.

Leave a Reply

